top of page

Stockholm Syndrome


Birgitta Lundblad, Elisabeth Oldgren, Kristin Ehnmark and Sven Safstrom; recognize those names? You probably don't, however, they are the four bank workers held hostage in the robbery of Kreditbanken bank in Stockholm that birthed the psychological phenomenon we know as Stockholm Syndrome. During this six day stand-off, it became apparent that these victims had developed a kind of supportive, emotional bond to their captures. Some years later Psychiatrist Dr Frank Ochberg would go on to define the term, and present the criteria that allows for the phenomenon to occur. This including the victims experiencing a range of emotional states; starting with a certain expectation that they will be killed, followed by a juvenile, strict treatment that causes a childlike feeling for the victim in which they require permission to eat/drink, speak or use the bathroom. When they are allowed essentials like food or water, they feel as it is a gift from their captures; one which allows them to live and thus they experience a deep but false feeling of gratitude for their captures.

But there has to be something more to this "phenomenon" then what Ochberg suggested. While it is said that Stockholm Syndrome only rarely ever actually occurs during a hostage/capture situation, it has occurred, which to me is an extremely intriguing insight as to human nature. From an outside perspective it seems nonsensical or asinine to feel a positive connection towards someone who has dehumanized you and put you in harms way. But is it that absurd? As human beings it seems we have a instinctual longing to relate to others. It likely stems from our fear of being alone or more indirectly from our fear of the unknown. When you feel like others share your sentiments, your fears or your hardships, the world feels like a smaller place. Most of us hate that feeling that we may just be a blip on the radar that is our universe. You know the feeling? The feeling of cosmic insignificance. I myself am somewhat of an existentialist and I believe in the absurdity that is our universe. And that our search for meaning and order collides with the real world's lack of order, causes much of our self-loathing. Friedrich Nietzsche said, “In the consciousness of the truth he has perceived, man now sees everywhere only the awfulness or the absurdity of existence and loathing seizes him.” While I find truth in this, I believe it is our search for companionship and amalgamation through empathy and emotional connection that allows us to digress from feelings of seclusion and insignificance caused by the universe's absurdity.

Let me circle back to my initial conversation regarding Stockholm Syndrome (I have an incurable tendency to let my train of thought wander). I believe Stockholm Syndrome exemplifies our hunger to connect. We strive not to feel alone in this indefinitely humongous universe by doing so. This includes relating to someone who may be experiencing such extreme hardships that they feel they must resort to criminal activity such as robbing a bank. We've all experienced our own personal struggles and when faced with our own demons, we can become desperate. So it makes sense that someone in a hostage situation could find a way to relate and understand their capture. We all feel better knowing that we aren't alone in fighting life's battles.

On an unrelated note, I feel it necessary to mention how cool my time in Stockholm has been (I've been here the last two weeks if you weren't aware of that already). Although I can't in good faith claim that my time in Sweden has been really "exciting" and "different" like other trips to new places have been for me; it has been awesome. This is mostly due to the people I've met here. I've never felt so comfortable so quickly in a new place before. It's been two weeks full of warmth and love (and a fair amount of partying). Maybe I didn't visit any monuments or go on any crazy excursions; but I had a great time. So thank you to all the people here in Sweden that made the start of my adventure amiable. The dive into these worldly waters will now be a great deal smoother thanks to you.

-G

P.S. I met a dope Swedish artist here. Her name is Kumba. We will likely be collaborating on some music in the future. In the meantime check out some of her stuff on youtube. Link is above!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page